There are ten Trustees, appointed by the Minister of Finance. They are selected for their professional or community-based experience and must live within the Trust's region.

The current Trustees are:

Geoff Milner   Carren Rangi - Deputy Chair   Anna Hansen
Gisborne   Hawke's Bay   Hawke's Bay
 Mark Kilmister    David Lea   Roland Elis
 Hawke's Bay    Tararua    Tararua
Bryan Guy   Shelly Mitchell-Jenkins - Chair
  Ron Garrod
 Manawatu   Horowhenua   Wairarapa
Stephen Kerr