About the Trust


To manage, invest and distribute funds for the benefit of our community.

The Eastern & Central Community Trust is an independent, charitable trust, and is open and accountable to its community. The Trust regularly donates money to community groups within its area; donations amount to around $5 million per annum. The aim is to help these groups achieve the things they believe will make their communities a better place for all who live there.

Donations are for charitable, cultural, philanthropic and recreational projects or services. If a community group identifies a special need and shows a commitment to helping itself, it will receive consideration.


There are ten Trustees, appointed by the Minister of Finance. They are selected for their professional or community-based experience and must live within the Trust's region.

The current Trustees are:

Geoff Milner Gisborne
Anna Hansen Hawke's Bay
Caren Rangi - Deputy Chair Hawke's Bay
Mark Kilmister Hawke's Bay
David Lea Tararua
Roland Ellis Tararua
Bryan Guy Manawatu
Shelly Mitchell-Jenkins - Chair Horowhenua
Ron Garrod Wairarapa
Stephen Kerr Wairarapa


The Trustees are responsible for managing funds of more than $130 million and distributing income for the benefit of the communities from Poverty Bay through to Wairarapa, and across the lower North Island to Manawatu and Horowhenua.

Meet the Trustees

Annual Public Meeting

A Public Meeting is held each year, within the Trust's region. The next Public Meeting is scheduled to be held in in August 2018. Further details will be made available closer to the time.


Back to top